National Steering Committee is Formed

March 25, 2019

A new Steering Committee has come together to determine the methods, structure, and resources to sustain a long-term effort that brings attention and support to America’s middle neighborhoods. The Steering Committee is comprised of 20 confirmed members, including prominent practitioners, policymakers, researchers, and funders working at national, state, and local levels.

The Steering Committee aims to chart the short- and long-term future of the middle neighborhoods movement, decide on priority activities and initiatives, align institutional commitments, and find an appropriate institutional base/permanent home for this work. The Steering Committee assumes the leadership role that The American Assembly has provided since publishing “On the Edge: America’s Middle Neighborhoods” in 2016 in partnership with the San Francisco Federal Reserve Bank.

While the Steering Committee advances its work, the middle neighborhoods Community of Practice will continue to focus on peer-sharing activities that support the work of practitioners at community-based organizations.

Members of the Steering Committee include:

  • Nelson Beckford, Program Director, Cleveland Foundation (co-chair)
  • Lori Schwarz, Director of Neighborhood Services, City of Plano (co-chair)
  • Paul C. Brophy, Senior Adviser, The American Assembly; Principal, Brophy & Reilly LLC
  • Charles Buki, President, czb LLC
  • Nedra Fears*, Executive Director, Greater Chatham Initiative
  • Jessie Grogan, Senior Policy Analyst, Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
  • Jenny Hope, Director of Neighborhood Programs, Healthy Neighborhoods, Inc.
  • Patrick Jordan, VP Enterprise Advisors, Enterprise Community Partners, Inc.
  • Amber Lynch, Senior Planner, City of Des Moines
  • Joseph McNeely, Board Member, National Alliance of Community Economic Development Associations (NACEDA)
  • Rachel Meadows, Chief of Staff, Councilwoman Cherelle Parker
  • Marcia Nedland, Principal, Fall Creek Consultants
  • Pamela Puchalski, Executive Director, The American Assembly
  • Darlene Russell, Senior Program Officer, Greater Milwaukee Foundation
  • Carey Shea, Organizer, Neighborhood Homes Investment Coalition
  • Paul Singh, Acting Vice President, NeighborWorks America
  • Jeffrey T. Verespej*, Executive Director, Old Brooklyn Community Development Corporation
  • Frank Woodruff, Executive Director, National Alliance of Community Economic Development Associations (NACEDA)

*Co-Chair, Middle Neighborhoods Community of Practice


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *